The sting of loss from last year’s final has given way to jubilation following Lynn University’s 3-2 victory over Saginaw Valley State in the NCAA Division II Championship final, claiming the program’s fourth national title and the 20th in school history.  Johnny Mertl and Yannick Braeuer scored first-half goals but it was Anthony Desperito’s goal with 20 minutes remaining that allowed the Fighting Knights to hoist the championship trophy.

Lynn finishes the season 19-3-1 overall.  The Blue & White previously won national crowns in 2003, 1991 and 1987.  Desperito was honored as the Most Outstanding Offensive Player while Jason Sangha earned Most Outstanding Defensive Player recognition.  The duo was joined on the all-tournament team by James Aldred, Roberto Cadilhe, Julian Halder and Martin Wehlert.
Read the full story.